Westchester Legislators Honor 2013 Jandon Scholarship Award Recipients


Contact: Tom Staudter | ThomasS@westchesterlegislators.com | 914-995-2819 (office) | 914-815-4462 (cell)

Westchester Legislators Honor

2013 Jandon Scholarship Award Recipients

White Plains, NY – The Westchester County Board of Legislators (BOL) honored the 2013 Jandon Scholarship award winners at a special ceremony held here today in the BOL Rotunda.

The Jandon Scholars Program, administered by the Jandon Foundation and the BOL, annually awards 15 college scholarships to academic achievers. Based on financial need, academic achievement and service to local communities, each Jandon scholarship includes a $10,000 award toward a recipient’s college costs as well as a laptop computer.

“We appreciate the opportunity to assist such remarkable young people in pursuing their college educations,” said Alec Cecil of the Jandon Foundation. “And we thank Chairman Ken Jenkins, Vice Chairman Lyndon Williams and the County Board of Legislators for their continuing partnership in this endeavor.”

What makes the Jandon scholarship unique is that the students do not receive the total amount of the award at once. Instead, they regularly submit their grades and semester schedules before they receive a check before each semester. The scholarship amount increases each year, so students receive the most amount of money their senior year as an incentive to graduate on time.

“It’s always gratifying to be able to recognize and honor a group of students that has demonstrated academic excellence and a high level of community involvement,” said Jenkins. “The Board of Legislators works closely with the Jandon Foundation in its efforts to support and encourage Westchester’s best and brightest youth towards academic success, and we look forward to hearing about the achievements of these outstanding young people in the future.”

Speaking at this year’s ceremony were two former Jandon scholarship recipients—Drewnesha Thompson, who just graduated from SUNY New Paltz, and Teashia Coleman, a 2009 graduate of Penn State University. Also speaking at the ceremony was Alec Cecil of the Jandon Foundation and BOL Vice Chairman Lyndon Williams from Mount Vernon.

The 2013 Jandon Scholars winners are:

Nellie A. Thornton High School in Mount Vernon

· Mayra Alvarez

· Daniel Matthew

New Rochelle High School

· Marcella Neto

Ossining High School

· Anderson Gomez

Roosevelt High School in Yonkers

· Lana Williams

Mount Vernon High School

· Hadia Edwards

· Dionnedra Davidson

· Chevaun Samuels

Briarcliff High School in Briarcliff Manor

· Spencer Seabrook

Fox Lane High School

· Kevin Tejada

Saunders High School in Yonkers

· Daniqua Smith

· Melissa De Los Santos

Peekskill High School

· Veronica Mendez

Sleepy Hollow High School in Tarrytown

· Samantha Haughton

· Ronniel Munoz

“On behalf of the Board of Legislators, I want everyone here to know how proud we are of the young people who win these scholarships,” said BOL Vice Chair Williams. “It is a real test of their mettle and abilities. Also, the accomplishments of these scholarship award winners regularly reach the remarkable. These young scholars represent the best of our American future, and I’m sure they will do much to ‘pay it forward’ and work to improve the lives of others.”

The Jandon Foundation Scholars Awards have supported 203 students from throughout Westchester over the past 13 years. Jandon Alumni include lawyers, architects, accountants, engineers, teachers, artists, and even one politician (Richard Thomas of Mount Vernon), many of them with masters degrees.

To date, the Cecils have donated more $1.5 million to the scholarship program since its inception.

The Jandon Foundation is comprised of Jane and Donald Cecil, plus their two children (Alec and Cecil) and respective spouses. In addition, the Jandon selection committee also includes Dr. Nettie Web, a retired educator formerly with the Greenburgh School District; Dr. La Ruth Gray of NYU Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, & Human Development; and José Flores, admissions director at Manhattanville College.



The 2013 Jandon Scholars Award Ceremony hosted by the Westchester County Board of Legislators is available for viewing on the BOL website (http://tinyurl.com/cmjnxte) and YouTube (http://youtu.be/_8LM15x2wS8).

Bazzo 05/22/13


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s