***Media Advisory for TUESDAY–May 21***Westchester Legislators to Honor 2013 Jandon Scholars***


Contact: Tom Staudter | ThomasS@westchesterlegislators.com | 914-995-2819 (office) | 914-419-5221 (cell)

***Media Advisory for TUESDAY—May 21***

***Westchester Legislators to Honor

2013 Jandon Scholarship Award Recipients***

WHITE PLAINS, NY — The Westchester County Board of Legislators (BOL) will honor the 2013 Jandon Scholarship award winners at special ceremony on TUESDAY—May 21 to be held in the BOL Rotunda. The program begins at 4 PM.

The Jandon Scholars Program, administered by the Jandon Foundation and the BOL, annually awards 15 college scholarships to academic achievers. Based on financial need, academic achievement and service to local communities, each Jandon scholar receives a $10,000 scholarship toward college as well as a laptop computer. Students provide regular updates on their academic progress to the Jandon Foundation and BOL, making this scholarship unique in this regard.

Speaking at this year’s ceremony will be two former Jandon scholarship recipients—Drewnesha Thompson, who just graduated from SUNY New Paltz, and Teashia Coleman, a 2009 graduate of Penn State University. Also speaking at the ceremony will be Alec Cecil of the Jandon Foundation and BOL Vice Chairman Lyndon Williams (D-Mount Vernon).

The 2012 Jandon Scholars winners are:

Nellie A. Thornton High School in Mount Vernon

· Mayra Alvarez

· Daniel Matthew

New Rochelle High School

· Marcella Neto

Ossining High School

· Anderson Gomez

Roosevelt High School in Yonkers

· Lana Williams

Mount Vernon High School

· Hadia Edwards

· Dionnedra Davidson

· Chevaun Samuels

Briarcliff High School in Briarcliff Manor

· Spencer Seabrook

Fox Lane High School

· Kevin Tejada

Saunders High School in Yonkers

· Daniqua Smith

· Melissa De Los Santos

Peekskill High School

· Veronica Mendez

Sleepy Hollow High School in Tarrytown

· Samantha Haughton

· Ronniel Munoz

“It’s always gratifying to be able to recognize and honor a group of young students who have demonstrated academic excellence and a high level of community involvement,” said BOL Chairman Ken Jenkins (D-Yonkers). “The Board of Legislators works closely with the Jandon Foundation in its efforts to support and encourage Westchester’s best and brightest youth towards academic success, and we look forward to hearing about the achievements of these outstanding young people in the future.”

Prior to the BOL taking over the County’s association with the Jandon Foundation in 2010 the scholarship program was overseen by the office of the County Executive.

WHO: Jandon Scholarship recipients; Alec Cecil and other Cecil family members, including Jandon Foundation co-founders Donald and Jane Cecil; BOL Chairman Vice Chairman Lyndon Williams and Westchester legislators; Jandon Foundation panel members; school superintendents, principals and guidance counselors; parents and family members of scholarship recipients

WHAT: Jandon Scholarship Award recognition ceremony

WHEN: TUESDAY—May 21 at 4 PM

WHERE: Westchester County Board of Legislators

Michaelian Office Building, 8th Floor / BOL Rotunda

148 Martine Avenue

White Plains, NY


Additional news and photos available at http://www.westchesterlegislators.com/newsroom

Join our Facebook fanpage: http://www.facebook.com/westchestercountyBOL | Follow us on Twitter: @westchesterBOL

=Bazzo 05/18/13


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s